A 66: Ronald Otile smashes Serena golf course record

first_imgOtile teeing off TODAY. PHOTO CASTLE-LITE MEDIA Otile DAY 3 #UGGolfOpen19 66 strokes from 18 holes >> – 6 under par 1 Eagle 6 birdies 9 Pars DAY 3 – LEADER-BOARD LIVE S Njoroge 213 S Njogu 215 R Otile 216 D Nduva 216 J Cwinyaai 221 D Asaba 223Venue: Lake Victoria Serena LIVE: Results (click)Final day draw (bottom)Entebbe, Uganda | LOUIS JADWONG |  Ronald Otile showed he will not lose his Uganda Amateur Golf Open title without a fight by breaking the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa course record to charge into Saturday’s final day ‘pressure group’.The 24-year-old carded an astonishing 66 – six under par on Friday, courtesy of a eagle, six birdies and 9 pars.Otile rewrote the record he had set just a day earlier with a four under par 68 strokes as he chased a pack of Kenyans, who have dominated the 78th Uganda Amateur Golf Open from day one.After a terrible start, that saw him card 82 strokes on Wednesday, he had remained optimistic, and warned that, “It is a game. I played +10 today, but I can still play -10 tomorrow.”Today’s all Kenyan pressure group heading to the back nine. PHOTO LOUIS JADWONGWhat will not be good news for his opponents is the fact that after his six-under par score today, Otile still feels there is room for improvement. “I need to play the course as it is and on regulations. I’ll also need to commit on putting tomorrow,” he said, when asked about his thoughts ahead of D-day.From being 13 strokes behind the leader on day one, Otile will be in the ‘pressure group’ for the final round on Saturday. He will tee off at 12.30pm in a group of three that includes Njoroge and Njogu, and this time he will be only three strokes behind.Uganda Amateur Open Main Event Draw Day 4 – Uganda Open 2019 by The Independent Magazine on ScribdGolf Open Winners since 19321932 – H.Davidson (Uganda Golf Club)1933 – H.Davidson (Uganda Golf Club)1934 – R.W Hooker (Muthaiga Golf Club)1935 – J.D Rankine (Uganda Golf Club)1936 – J.D Rankine (Uganda Golf Clun)1937 – H. Davidson (Uganda Golf Club)1938 – R.W Bun (Mombasa Golf Club)1939 – J.E Higginson1940 – 1947 NOT HELD1948 – D. F Stewart (Uganda Golf Club)1949 – A.Q Roberts (Kitale Golf Club)1950 – N.C Elwell (Uganda Golf Club)1951 – N.C Elwell (Mwanza Golf Club)1952 – J.R Cooke (Uganda Golf Club)1953 – R.W Hooper (Nairobi Golf Club)1954 – M.Johnson (Kabalae Golf Club)1955 – J.R Oglive (Kitale Golf Club)1956 – J.R Oglive (Kitale Golf Club)1957 – Ian McAdam (Uganda Golf Club)1958 – Brian Malone (Uganda Golf Club)1959 – Ian McAdam (Uganda Golf Club)1960 – Mike Johnson (Mbale Golf Club)1961 – Mike Johnson (Mbale Golf Club)1962 – Mike Johnson (Mbale Golf Club)1963 – John Higginson (Uganda Golf Club)1964 – John Higginson (Uganda Golf Club)1965 – Muhammed Rajab (Nairobi Golf Club)1966 – John Higginson (Uganda Golf Club)1967 – I.Pattinson (Dar es Salaam Golf Club)1968 – G.Burrows (Uganda Golf Club)1969 – M.Rajab(Nairobi Golf Club)1970 – M.Couma (Uganda Golf Club)1971 – J. Kahugu (Sigona Golf Club)1972 – Ben Okello (Masaka Golf Club) Share on: WhatsApp 1973 – Tom Taban (Uganda Golf Club)1974 – Alex Okodan (Uganda Golf Club)1975 – Ramathan Kayamba (Uganda Golf Club)1976 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1977 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1978 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1979 – 1980 – Not held1981 – Juma Jaffer (Uganda Golf Club)1982 – Juma Jaffer (Uganda Golf Club)1983 – Sadi Onito (Uganda Golf Club)1984 – John Mucheru (Uganda Golf Club)1985 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1986 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1987 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1988 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1989 – Allan Njoroge (Muthaiga Golf Club)1990- Dedan Kagonyera (Kabale Golf Club)1991 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1992 – Juma Jaffer (Uganda Golf Club)1993 – John Gavin (Uganda Golf Club)1994 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1995 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1996 – Sadi Onito (Jinja Golf Club)1997 – Steven Birungi (Uganda Golf Club)1998 – Steven Birungi (Uganda Golf Club)1999 – Steven Birungi (Uganda Golf Club)2000 – Deo Akope (Entebbe Golf Club)2001 – Deo Akope (Entebbe Golf Club)2002 – Deo Akope (Entebbe Golf Club)2003 – Charles Yokwe (Jinja Golf Club)2004 – David Odhiambo (Nyanza Golf Club)2005 – Charles Yokwe (Jinja Golf Club)2006 – Amos Kamya (Entebbe Golf Club)2007 – Nicholas Rokoine (Muthaiga Golf Club)2008 – George Olayo (Entebbe Golf Club)2009 – Peter Ssendaula (Entebbe Golf Club)2010 – Brian Mwesigwa (Kabale Golf Club)2011 –Rogers Byaruhanga (Uganda Golf Club)2012 – Phillip Kasozi (Uganda Golf Club)2013 – Peter Ssendaula (Entebbe Golf Club)2014 – Kitata (Entebbe Golf Club)2015 – Ronald Otile (Tooro Golf Club)2016 – Ronald Otile (Tooro Golf Club)2017 – Ronald Rugumayo (Tooro Golf Club)2018 – Ronald Otile (Tooro Golf Club)last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *